Good Logos:
The FedEx logo is great. First of all, the fact that they have made the d and the E touching with absolutely no space in between. It sort of combines their colors together to make orange and purple very distinctly theirs. It also sort of makes 'FedEx' look like a truck, or the dE look like a box. The coolest thing about this logo is the intended arrow that has been created by the negative space between the E and the x. It shoes that FedEx is moving packages forward, towards you, or whoever you want them to go.

I am not an Obama fan, so that should tell you how strongly I feel that this is a good logo. The choice to split the 8 or B in half with two different colors, and to change the O or 0, does just that. It makes these symbols play as two different things. It creates the word Obama, and emphasizes the year, '08. When one reads this they are pairing those two ideas (Obama, and 08) together without much thought. The color choices are also good ones because they are true American colors, these colors came straight from our country's flag.
The Pinterest logo is brilliant. First of all, it is very strongly catered to ladies. The choice of red color, and the font with all of the ligatures really helps to display who the audience is. In addition, the smaller logo (top) shows three things: it has a P, an i, and it looks like a pin. Brilliant!
The Sherwin Williams logo has been this way for a while. I think it's so cool. Although, they did not really display the name of their store, besides the paint bucket, that is okay, because they're a well-known, corporate company. The Cover the Earth part is the part that is very creative, in my opinion. The Earth is barely showing, but you can tell what it is because of the shape, and the detail in the portion of the Earth that you can see. It just makes someone want to go and re-decorate. It makes someone get the idea planted in their head to paint something, paint everything! Cover the Earth.

The Rio logo for the 2016 Olympics is great. The use of different colors that go with the traditional colors of the Olympic Rings is a very successful idea. Also, the way these shapes created a ring of people is excellent. This is a main focus for the olympics, to unite people. In addition, the people also resemble the letters, R i and o. The font choice of Rio2016 helps with this, and the movement overall is great.
Bad Logos:
This is a sports logo for the Arkansas Pine Bluff Golden Lions. HORRIBLE. Have you ever seen a lion this way? It's mane is all over the place. It looks very unnatural and kind of like fire. In addition, the bright choice of red for both the tongue and the one showing eye seems like a poor choice. The eye should not be the same color as the tongue, and it should definitely not be that bright. And the fact that they are trying to make the eyes so scary, hence the red, but only one eye is even showing, is just thoughtless.

This is the logo for Rome for the olympics. The olympic rings looks nice, and even the fact that they used such famous, and traditional imagery of the animals on top is not an awful idea. It is just way too busy. Nothing seems to go together here. The little triangles on the outside of the lettering seem a little silly, or unnecessary. Also, the animals are way too detailed for a logo. It would be smarter, I think, to keep it simpler, maybe a silhouette, or an outline. Or somehow working it in to match the olympic rings or the letters a little better.

The Kroger logo has been like this forever. I don't get it. Why the extended K and g? The only reason I can see that this has been done is that someone must have been playing around with the word, and thought it looked cool this way around the o. To me, this has nothing to do with groceries at a good value, or opening up another register for me. The color choice is okay, because it seems American, and safe, and standard. People are not looking for crazy colors at a grocery store, unless it is something like Trader Joe's or Whole Foods, or a Farmer's Market, which Kroger is clearly not trying to be.

I just cannot take this logo seriously. The cheap glare effect on each shape is just tacky. I can see that maybe while using a webcam or something, there may be glares apparent, but why would anyone emphasize that? I think this group of shapes is supposed to somehow make an eye. An eye has little to do with logic, or technology, which seems to be where the name came from. The fact that one of the "eyelashes" is red does not make sense, and really crowds the logo up. It is also missing that great shiny effect that the other shapes have, which makes it look unfinished, as terrible as that shine is.

The Virgin mobile logo is another that I have never understood. The way the word mobile is displayed is so typical, and boring, and seems unnecessary. If Virgin mobile were a successful company, people would know it is a mobile company, and to put that word there, especially so large, would not be necessary. The way virgin is written seems to be irrelevant to mobile phones. The campaign does tend to try to make their phones seem fun, and young, and hip. This font though, seems to just be something someone happened to like. It's nice, it looks okay, but displays nothing about the company or the product.